God loves us in the little things

January 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’ve been really struggling lately with God’s love for me. I believe wholeheartedly that He does, but being human I deeply desire tangibles once and awhile. Yesterday the lack of spiritual consolations of late had me more depressed than usual. Spiritual exhaustion is the worst thing ever.

This morning, I was sitting at 7AM Mass, listening to the Mass readings. I recognized the person in front of me:  a man from Nigeria who is a lay minister to the sick in city hospitals. He is a dear, dear friend (that spiritual connection, you know) but he hadn’t been to his usual Mass in a long time so I hadn’t seen him. After the Liturgy of the Word, he took the gifts up to the priest. As he came back to his seat, he stopped in front of me, smiled broadly with one of those smiles that is like a warm hug, and extended both hands and clasped mine for a moment. There was so much love there that I started to cry as he continued to his seat.

Praise God for my friend, not-so-ironically named Emmanuel. God was speaking through him, to me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading God loves us in the little things at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

