From Philadelphia…

September 14, 2009 § Leave a comment

Posting from the airport in Philadelphia this afternoon, whilst my mom and I wait for our flight to Paris. I honestly can’t believe that it is happening…I am cool as a cucumber…I think because the past three days have been so busy I have not had time to think about the trip.

Defender’s Day weekend was fabulous, as always. Everyone in the Guard has a great attitude and really make an effort to give visitors 110%. Volunteers braved torrential downpours, appendicitis, backaches, exhaustion and more to put on an amazing show. On Friday, 1500 children in school groups from Baltimore came to visit the Fort even though it was pouring outside. Unfortunately, our annual boat ride/parade was cancelled as a result of a small craft warning, but the Lt. came through and took the volunteers on a field trip to a museum in Balitmore to see the original Star Spangled Banner, penned by Francis Scott Key.

Saturday and Sunday were a blast as well, with many a hilarious hijinx. I will write more later after I have a chance to put pen to paper about it (I like to write down my special memories via old-fashioned means before I type them up), but meanwhile enjoy some photos from the weekend below, courtesy of C.

Our illustrious Fife and Drums Corps

Our illustrious Fife and Drums Corps

The US Corps of Artillery

The US Corps of Artillery

The F&D Corps in the Tavern

The F&D Corps in the Tavern

 

The Corps eating dinner in the Tavern

The Corps eating dinner in the Tavern

The three on the right are members of the FMG citizenry

The three on the right are members of the FMG citizenry

Goofing around post-DDay

Goofing around post-DDay

We saw this portrait of William Stone by Charles Peale in the museum

We saw this portrait of William Stone by Charles Peale in the museum

TM's version of the same

TM's version of the same

I have already started missing my Guard friends. Hopefully we can find an excuse to get together again soon. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From Philadelphia… at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

