The Holy Father on the Real Presence

August 13, 2009 § Leave a comment

This is absolutely amazing…so beautiful and profound, yet so simple.

Speaking of religion…here is a story that makes me smile. Where I work, all three admin. assistants work together in a common office. We don’t have cubicles; rather, we each have a desk and some wall space to personalize. On my wall, I have a photo of my cousins taken at Thanksgiving several years ago, a photo of myself and D., a quote by John Henry Cardinal Newman, a rosary, and seven assorted holy cards. There is a photo of Pope Benedict attached to my clipboard, my WYD SYD scarf hanging on the coatrack behind me, a sign reminding me of my weekly Confession on my monitor, an icon on my desk, and a crucifix sticking out of my pencil cup. (Note: these things just sort of collected…no rhyme or reason to the collection.)

Anyway, I’m chatting with a very nice male coworker of mine (A.)  yesterday about his research project, when suddenly he leans over, squints, and whispers: “Are you…religious?” I turned and looked at my cubicle, and not knowing really what to say, shrugged and said “yes, I guess so”. I don’t think I’ve ever been asked that before. What does it mean to be “religious”? I’m not a religious nut or a nun…but I am definitely passionate about what I believe.

People do say the darndest things. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Holy Father on the Real Presence at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

