Happy Bastille Day!

July 14, 2009 § 2 Comments

Prise de la Bastille, by Jean-Pierre-Louis-Laurent Houel

Prise de la Bastille, by Jean-Pierre-Louis-Laurent Houel

On this day in 1789, the people of Paris stormed the Bastille in an act of rebellion against the French monarchy. The “French Team” comprised of the lovely Dr. M and the three new French students brought homemade crepes and various toppings for everyone to enjoy after lunch. Hmmm I made sure to cut back on my lunch meal size so I can indulge a bit.

In other news, I’ve officially been named “Brevet Second Citizen” at the Fort by the Lieutenant. The proclamation issued this morning runs thus:

July 14, 2009

To All and Singular to whom these presents shall come, Greetings:

Know that reposing our especial trust and confidence in the Military Deportment, the Knowledge of the Parade Manual, and other instruments of sound Military Discipline and with evidence of their zeal in the performance of their Duties, their obedience to their Superior Officers in their lawful exercise of Authority, and their fidelity, both to the FORT MCHENRY GUARD, and their Comrades-in-Arms, their morale, their traditions, and their practice of the Military Arts, we have this day, Nominated and Confirmed:

(Names listed with various ranks and stations)

to be theirs to hold and enjoy at our pleasure, in the fulfilling of such duties as may from time to time be required of them, with all the rights, privileges, emoluments, and honors thereunto pertaining.

Given under our hands at FORT MCHENRY this 14th of July, in the 233rd year of the United States of America.

By order of:

Lt. J. Bailey, Adj. Cmdg.

Congrats to my fellow guard-members on their new positions! :)

My mother found me two more fabulous lamps and a dresser for my apartment secondhand. It is a good thing she has an eye for these things (interior design, that is) because I am notably unskilled. Give me a wardrobe to design and I am as happy as a bug in a rug; give me a room to design and I am lost. My house someday will probably be quite ragtag…it will appear that I am daring and fashionable, but really I just won’t know how to do otherwise.

§ 2 Responses to Happy Bastille Day!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Bastille Day! at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

