memories of socal

June 23, 2009 § Leave a comment

I was going through things on my computer yesterday, trying to make some space on the hard drive, and I came across these photos from my family’s last trip to California in 2006. My grandfather’s Croatian cousins (my third cousins) S. and J. live in Southern CA outside LA, and their home is one of my favorite places on earth. It is literally a slice of heaven: on their little plot of land that is mostly hillside, S. has built a network of tiered gardens. These gardens are filled to overflowing with vegetables – tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers – and especially fruits – kumquats, oranges, lemons, plums, grapes, and even hybrid fruits. S. tends these plants like they were his children and doesn’t use pesticides, so we could eat the fruit right off the tree. I have very fond memories of S. pulling bunches of grapes off the vine and placing them right into my open hands. I’d never seen fresh grapes before.

S. and J. have flowers too…big, beautiful blossoms as you can see in the photos below. S. cut one for each of my sisters and I and we had an impromptu photoshoot.

C. looks slightly disturbed

C. looks slightly disturbed

The flowers are attacking E.!

The flowers are attacking E.!

Three sisters

Three sisters

With S., the Adam of this Garden of Eden

With S., the Adam of this Garden of Eden

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading memories of socal at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

