Happy Father’s Day!

June 21, 2009 § Leave a comment

Christmas morning when I was three years old

Christmas morning when I was three years old

I cannot say anything about my father – “Daddy” to me – that could possibly do him justice. When it comes to love, everyone I think is reduced to baby talk. Three simple words become the most heartfelt, profound phrase in human history, stemming from the Sacred Heart of Jesus we celebrated not two days ago. I love my Daddy, and I can tell one story in particular to illustrate why.

First things first, you need to know something about Daddy. Like Our Lord, Daddy never really sleeps. Not only is he up late every night because he loathes to leave the company of his night-owl family (I am not included under night-owls) but he wakes up promptly at 5AM to go to work, and is always out of bed in an instant at any hour of morning if there is any distress in the house (for example, imagined mice running in the attic, my sister C. sleepwalking, someone has a cramp and needs the rice bag, I had a nightmare, you name it. I think children become more demanding as they get older.)

Anyway, about a month ago, I woke up early on a Saturday morning to leave for a very early (7:30AM) appointment. We had been up late Friday night watching a movie as a family. I get all ready to go, have my breakfast, and brace myself for the early-morning cold while I sprint to my car. After I climb into the driver’s seat, turn on the car, and situate my purse, someone knocks on my window. There is Daddy, sleepy-eyed and barefoot, standing in the middle of the driveway. I ask him why he woke up so early on a Saturday morning, and he says “To give you a kiss and say good-bye.”

Daddy has always considered each of his daughters to be princesses, and treated us accordingly. He has always known that it is most important for us to know that we are loved for who we are, and goes out of his way to show it like in the story above. Clambering out of bed on cold morning just to give me a kiss goodbye. What does all this mean for us, his daughters? All three of us know that we are worth all the treasure in the world, and that we should never settle for less in current and future relationships.

Thank you so much, Daddy, for the pearl of great price – the knowledge that I am always loved – and have a very Happy Father’s Day. I love you.

Graduation 2009

Graduation 2009

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Father’s Day! at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

