secondhand thoughts

June 17, 2009 § 4 Comments

I was thinking this morning about how much I enjoy shopping secondhand stores (both in person and online). One might be shocked to know that my entire outfit most days, including today, is secondhand. Today I am wearing an Ann Taylor denim jacket, a pair of GAP trousers, and an Ann Taylor blouse…all from Goodwill. I bought my Privo shoes used on eBay. Not only does it feel good to save $$$, but the search for deals/treasures is a huge amount of fun and finding a treasure is extremely rewarding. And to top it all off, you get the satisfaction of being both economically and environmentally responsible.

Of course, you can find other stuff secondhand too. For example, the other day I bought a basket (for re-enacting) for only $1. I am going to get a lot of use out of it. I also buy jewelry at secondhand stores, if I am not going to buy it handmade on etsy.

Random change of subject.

I made my first nanowire yesterday! One of the other researchers in our group, a Dr. SK from Korea, helped me prepare a bit of my sample for the microscope. He looked at it first, and indicated with a heavy sigh that the sample was a mess. My heart fell; how disappointing. SK told me to have a look myself. There, in the middle of a mostly-horrible sample, was a lowly nanowire! I shrieked with joy and SK congratulated me on my “baby wire”. Everyone has to start somewhere.

Here are a few things I’ve gathered from around the web for your enjoyment:

Saint Verde Digest.

Amazing hotel in Navarre, Spain courtesty of Remodelista.

An incredible, moving tribute to the joy of everyday life documented by Jamie Livingston, a man who recieved a camera and took a polaroid picture every day for thirteen years. The final picture is of a man – the photographer – in a hospital room. The day after the photo was taken, Jamie succumbed to cancer. Take a look at the website where his polaroids have been posted. More info on Jamie can be found here.

I think I love these new Chanel leather bags, but I’m not sure. I haven’t decided.

Very nice photography from Catherine Gratwicke.

ADORABLE blog by Inhae.

§ 4 Responses to secondhand thoughts

  • chèvrefeuille says:

    The blog by Inhae: some people have the best ideas. =]

    CONGRATULATIONS on making your first baby nanowire! *SO* exciting! Wish I could see it…

  • Sarah O says:

    I think the majority of my clothes at this point are second-hand too- we should go thrift/vintage shopping next time you’re up here!

  • Genna says:

    That would be so much fun! :D Thrift/vintage shopping is like the feminine version of hunting I think.

    Sorry you had trouble posting comments. They won’t show up until I go and approve them.

  • Sarah O says:

    Aha! I think I knew that but forgot last night… from now on I will try and remember and only post once. And yes, hooray for vintage/thrift shopping. = )

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading secondhand thoughts at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

