family time

June 15, 2009 § 1 Comment

“It is amazing to me,” said Bingley, “how young ladies can have the patience to be so very accomplished as they all are…They all paint tables, cover screens, and net purses. I scarcely know anyone who cannot do all this, and I am sure I never heard a young lady spoken of for the first time, without being informed that she was very accomplished.”(from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice)

I am in a Jane-Austen-mood these days and am busy re-reading her novels in my spare time. This was my favorite line all weekend. :) Sad to say, I do not know how to paint tables, cover screens, OR net purses.

It was really a lovely weekend. My brother and I spent Saturday at the fort: he drilled and fired the cannnon, and I embroidered one of my pockets for the first half of the day – a lady’s embroidered pockets made her more desirable as a marriage partner – and oversaw the market cart for the second half. This week I did not forget sunscreen. I really enjoyed spending some time with C., another citizen and good friend of mine.

At one point during the day something happened that put a smile on my face for the entire weekend. Amongst the visitors was a small boy, maybe three years old at most, who busied himself sitting and playing in the gravel on the parade ground. (Gravel, I can attest, is much more fun than museums at that age. My grandparents had a gravel driveway…it was like having a enormous sandbox.) I watched the little boy play awhile before a group of visitors showed up and that took my full attention.

As soon as the group left, the little boy came dashing up to where I was sitting, dumped his handfuls of gravel on the ground, and blurted out: “You are beautiful”. Then he dashed away as quickly as he came. It was the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen, and possibly the finest compliment I’ve ever received. Ah, the innocence of children.

My grandparents joined us for dinner Saturday night, and on Sunday we went to Mass and a party in honor of our parish Deacon who is retiring. Afterwards, we spent the afternoon reading, gardening, watching some home videos from 1994, and fooling around on the trampoline my mom bought for exercise. I think her four adult children are having more fun horsing around on it than any amount of younger children could. ;)

§ One Response to family time

  • chèvrefeuille says:

    Oh Bingley…One just can’t resist loving him! When are we going to finish watching the A&E version?

    The story about the little boy is absolutely *precious*!!! I wish I could have seen that. :).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading family time at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

