Trekkie Dreams

May 11, 2009 § Leave a comment

Spock2

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all! We had a high tea for my mother and grandmother yesterday, and then went to the movies as is our Mother’s Day tradition. Mommy (the coolest mom on the planet) wanted to see Star Trek. Father Mark and Father Joe joined us for the movie as well, making it quite the par-tay.

:::shriek:::

Last night, I got to see the movie I’ve been waiting for since my freshman year of high school. And it did not disappoint; in fact, it was the most awesome movie I have seen in my life. All my nerdy Trekkie dreams (okay, save one or two) were fulfilled in the span of two hours. I had the opportunity to be a total nerd for an entire evening, laughing at obscure references and crying, yes crying, when the USS Enterprise (NCC-1701) first graced the screen.

One of the best parts of going to the film was seeing and hearing my two sisters and especially my brother – closest to me in age – laughing at the same obscure jokes, picking up on the same references, and making their sister proud. My brother K. even found the Denebian slime devil! :::sniff::: (The clip is a meshing of the TOS episode and the DS9 tribute to the TOS episode, but you get the reference.)

Oh! My first love, Mr. Spock, was amazing too.  Zachary Quinto was an excellent incarnation of my favorite Vulcan. <3

I’m not sure I can give an unbiased opinion, but you can follow my example if you will. I am certainly going to see this movie twice, or thrice…or who knows? I have the whole summer ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trekkie Dreams at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

