Thinking…

December 18, 2008 § 2 Comments

I need to come up with my mission statement/goals for life over the Christmas holiday. In the future I think it will help to make life decisions…say some prayers for me! Who am I? What is it that God is calling me to do with my life? What is my role as a “link the chain between persons” as Cardinal Newman so aptly put it?

God has created me to do Him some definite service. He has committed some work to me which He has not committed to another. I have my mission. I may never know it in this life but I shall be told it in the next. I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons. He has not created me for naught. I shall do good – I shall do His work. I shall be an angel of peace, a preacher of truth in my own place, while not intending it, if I do but keep His commandments. Therefore I will trust Him. (John Henry Cardinal Newman)

§ 2 Responses to Thinking…

  • Father Joe says:

    Genna, every life is like circles within circles. As a person makes choices and responds to God’s call in his or her life, one’s focus narrows. Some people get confused and lost, the circles unravel like a spring. I do not think this will happen with you. One circle is your faith as a Christian. You have a clear sense of your duties as a believer and know that God loves you. Another circle is your family and friends; they give you a special point of reference and you know they will always support you. Still another circle is your education; and how it is preparing you for either continued instruction or for a true career. Another circle is formed by your heart, it may take you to a religious vocation or to the love of a special man. I have every confidence in you and in your discernment.

  • Genna says:

    Thank you, Father Joe, for all your support and prayers. :) They mean so much!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thinking… at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

