Forays into the Kitchen

October 27, 2008 § 1 Comment

I had a lovely quiet weekend, as I hope all of you did. Yesterday I was so excited to try a couple new recipes that hell or high water would not have kept me from donning the apron and bumming around in the kitchen. There is just something so familar about aprons and mixing…it reminds me of chemistry. Suddenly I am back in the lab. But perhaps this is not comforting for those who have to eat the concoctions.

Anyway, out of the the two recipes I tried, I was most pleased with the results for the Lemon Meringue Pie Cupcakes. I was floored, because I am notoriously bad with meringue and it took me five or six days to build up the courage to give this one a whirl. But my father loves lemon meringue pie, so I tried it and the results were amazing!

Lemon Meringue Pie Cupcakes

For the lemon curd

1/3 cup lemon juice

3 large eggs

1 large egg yolk

1/2 cup granulated sugar

8 T butter, cut into chunks

1 t fresh grated lemon zest

For the cupcake batter

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 t baking powder

3/4 t salt

1 T fresh grated lemon zest

1 cup granulated sugar

6 T butter, softened

1 cup milk

For the meringue

3 large egg whites

1/2 t cream of tartar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

To make the lemon curd

1. In a heatproof bowl, whisk lemon juice, eggs, egg yolk, and sugar until smooth. 2. Add butter and place bowl over a pot of simmering water. Whisking gently, cook mixture until it thickens and leaves a ribbon when the whisk is lifted – anywhere from 8-20 minutes. 3. Remove from heat and push through a fine mesh strainer. Fold in lemon zest, cover, and chill before using.

To make the cupcakes

2. Preheat the oven to 375. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. 2. In a large bowl, rub together the lemon zest and sugar with your fingers until the zest is evenly distributed and the sugar takes on a light yellow hue. 3. Add butter and cream together until light and fluffy. 4. Beat in egg and vanilla until combined. 5. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with dry ingredients. 6. Evenly divide between 24 paper-lined muffin cups. They will be roughly half full. 7. Bake until cake springs back when lightly touched in center and is just beginning to get a golden hue, about 16-20 minutes. Remove and place cupcakes on a wire rack to cool completely.

To make the meringue

1. In a large mixing bowl, whip egg whites and cream of tartar until foamy. 2. Slowly add sugar, a tablespoon at a time, and continue whipping until the egg whites hold stiff peaks when beaters are lifted. [Do this in an electric mixer if possible…I did it by hand and couldn’t feel my arms when I was done!]

To assemble the cupcakes

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and place cupcakes on a large baking sheet. 2. Use a paring knife to cut out a small cone out of the center of each cupcake. 3. Spoon about a tablespoon of lemon curd into each cupcake. 4. Spoon dollops of meringue over the curd on each cupcake. Bake until tops of the meringues brown, about 4-6 minutes.

Makes 24 cupcakes. Hat tip to ThatEATconomist for the delicious recipe!

§ One Response to Forays into the Kitchen

  • Genna says:

    Hmmmm…both my father and my friend voted these cupcakes better than anything else I tried baking this past weekend. But my brother voted the peanut butter brownies best. Should I go with the majority?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Forays into the Kitchen at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

