Almost…there…

November 20, 2007 § Leave a comment

Ten hours until Thanksgiving break and counting! *Golly* it stinks having my last class of the day on Tuesdays at 5PM.

Not much has been going on the last week or so – I am yanking my hair out with stress (OH, AND BY THE WAY I GOT A HAIRCUT! IT’S AWESOME!), and my dear friend Catherine is visiting for a little over a week. It’s been nice to have some downtime together for girl-talk that isn’t possible amidst PChem problems, if you know what I mean.

Yesterday, VSL had its Thanksgiving lunch party. I had such a wonderful time; it kind of made me feel less like a jaded-and-bitter Senior and more like I was *before* I decided to make myself a mental case during Junior year. I could just feel the human connections around me. The broad range of cultural traditions represented at VSL make it a very rich experience, indeed. For lunch I sat with Miguel, Shan Tao, and Li (all from China), Sungmu (from Korea), Patrick and Richard (Americans), and Tevik (from Turkey)! And that is only a sample. I think I am exposed to fifteen or sixteen different nationalities in only the brief space of time every morning at work.

Anyway, the lunch was well attended…I think about eighty-five people came. It was funny: I’ve seen all of them on a regular basis either singly or in pairs (looking for coffee on the fourth floor), but had no idea what a large group there was until I saw them all together. :) I have so much to be thankful for, not least of all being the incredible opportunities God has given me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Almost…there… at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

