Council Members/Speakers

July 8, 2007 § Leave a comment

First, the speakers that I met, both of whom spoke eloquently on the subject of nanotechnology, and I can say are wonderful and intelligent men:

 076a0.jpg

Dr. Andrew Maynard, a Briton who gives awesome presentations. I have never heard one so gripping as his. Embarassingly, I had to give my presentation the following week on his presentation. It is a hard act to follow.

mferrari-at-imm_cropped_sm.jpg

Dr. Mauro Ferrari, a brilliant Italian scientist working for the University of Texas. He has four beautiful daughers, a son, a lovely wife, and a sparkling personality.  

Here are the Council members I met last week:

180px-leonkass.jpg

Dr. Leon Kass, author of The Hungry Soul as well as many, many, other excellent books.

carson.jpg

Dr. Benjamin Carson

foster2.jpggeorge.jpg

Dr. Daniel Foster (L) and Dr. Robert George (R) – meeting Dr. George was one of my greatest thrills…I have read so many of his articles!

gomez_lobo.jpg

Dr. Gomez-Lobo

mchughpaul.jpg 

Dr. Paul McHugh, who I breakfasted with both mornings before the Council meetings, is a delightful, down-t0-earth gentleman.  Definitely the sweetest of the Council members.

    ff_118_stemcells1_f.jpg

Dr. William Hurlbut, a thrill to meet for sure.  I’ve already spoken about him in earlier posts. Surprisingly (for a scientist), he knows how to string two sentences together and make them sound nice. :)

Finally, this post wouldn’t be complete without a photo of the Council’s Chairman, Dr. Edmund Pellegrino.

pellegrino_168x252.jpg

Awwwww…I just love this guy. He’s so adorable – and terribly brilliant – I can’t even say. It is an honor working for him, conversing with him over lunch, and listening to his stories and endless wisdom.

Anyway, so that’s all I have to say for today. Perhaps I will get a chance to post again before I am ages older.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Council Members/Speakers at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

