An Anecdote

May 30, 2007 § 1 Comment

As a father is gentle with his children, so is the Lord with those who revere him.

And so also are his saints gentle with those who honor them. Yesterday I went to morning Mass in DC before the first day of my internship for the President’s Council on Bioethics. Although I have known about this internship for a fairly long time and have been able to mentally prepare myself, I was seized with a fit of nerves at around 7AM as I was standing on the front steps of St. Patrick’s chatting with the priest. I could only pray that Mass would calm me a bit.

The church is quite beautiful and tempts me to term it the “saint Church” since there are statues, paintings, and windows depicting saints everywherethe eye can see. Up above the sanctuary are sixteen paintings of American saints. From where I sat for Mass, I could see all but one which was hidden from my view from some light fixtures. Normally this would not have bothered me, but for some reason I couldn’t get it out of my mind. (Thankfully, it stayed on the periphery so I could pay reverent attention to the Sacrifice.)

As soon as Mass was finished, I went up to the Blessed Sacrament Chapel to say the rest of my morning prayers, and remembered that now I was in a position to see what that hidden painting was. What a joyous surprise! There, now revealed where once he was hidden behind the lights, stood Blessed Miguel Pro. Tears of pleasure welled up in my eyes – I felt Miguel’s presence as he gently showed me that I was not alone and that Someone was guiding me in the Way I am meant to walk.

What games my Merry Mexican Martyr plays with me! It is not the first time he has played a trick, but it is the first game of hide-and-seek. I love him dearly…sometimes I can literally feel his presence as strongly as if it were another bodily presence. He is always there to play a joke, keep me company, and make absolutely certain that I remember to laugh even when I don’t feel like it.

 

Above: Father Pro, smiling at the top during a picnic with his students in Nicaragua. This is the only known photograph of Miguel smiling.

§ One Response to An Anecdote

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Anecdote at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

