Woohoo!

May 4, 2007 § 2 Comments

I just wanted to get on here and say that Spiderman III was absolutely incredible: everyone should go see it! As soon as my finals are over tomorrow afternoon I will write up my review. I’m sure you are all waiting with bated breath. :::winkwink:::

§ 2 Responses to Woohoo!

  • Father Joe says:

    Oh my goodness, I cannot believe I preached the Gospel According to Spiderman on Sunday! The theme had to do with participation and imitation of God’s love. Like the old silly song says, “They shall know we are Christians by our love.” Our Lord means this in a drastic way: picking up our crosses and sacrifice, turning the cheek, walking the extra mile, forgiving those who hurt and persecute us, and loving our enemies. What does Spidey do? Eventually he is able to see the Sandman for what he is, not just a criminal or the murderer of his uncle, but a desperate man who made bad choices to save his daughter. When all the other villains are vanquished, he makes his confession to Spiderman. It was an accident, the gun went off, but still he was committing a crime and the death of Peter Parker’s uncle was his fault. He tells Spidey that he is sorry, but that he does not expect him to forgive him. Aunt May had warned Peter that he had to let go of hate and revenge, that these things destroyed people. But his uncle raised him and was like a father. The Sandman is surprised, as is the whole audience, when Spiderman looks at him and says, “I forgive you.” He acknowledges that he has made some bad choices, too. I suppose he finally forgives himself, as well.

    AMEN.

  • Genna says:

    *teehee* Yeah Kenny and I had a long ethical argument over that scene yesterday…I will have to write my review tonight when I get home from work. :-)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Woohoo! at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

