Maybe I should bathe in Goo-gone…

December 20, 2006 § 1 Comment

After stringing lights on seven trees, I’m hopelessly covered in sap.

Before much ado, :::ahem:::

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR MOMMY AND LIZZY,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Research was wonderful this morning (we went out with a bang by doing no less than six simultaneous reactions, despite Dr. Brewer’s under-the-weather-ness!), the Brewers took me out for lunch at Colonel Brooks (okay, I admit, I like it better than Ellis Island), and spiritual direction was of course a highlight of the day. But I missed being around my family and am glad to be home again.

The now-infamous molecules…not much company for sure. These in this dish are the result of a whole eight hours’ painstaking work of separating with a needle and a razor blade. But these are CLEAN! PURE! FIT FOR ELEMENTAL ANALYSIS! PRIMA! PERFECT! NOT A TRACE OF PERCHLORATE LEFT! GORGEOUS! Need I say more?

The whole family met me at the Shrine for decorating this evening, and we all had a great time. I was assigned to the Nativity Scene in the Upper Church with four other young people whom I had never met, including Sarah, a sophomore chemistry major who was also homeschooled, and Brother James, an endearingly wacky Dominican who is our new deacon at the Shrine. Fr. Fisher came by every few minutes to check up on our progress and ensure we were arranging things tastefully. :-)

After three and a half hours of work, everyone stopped for a pizza dinner and Fr. Fisher led us all in a rousing rendition of “Happy Birthday” for the above birthday girls. They were embarassed, but isn’t that half the fun?

Me, palling around with my spiritual director and dear friend Fr. Fisher

§ One Response to Maybe I should bathe in Goo-gone…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maybe I should bathe in Goo-gone… at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

