Lecture Cancelled

November 3, 2006 § 2 Comments

:::sniff:: Dr. Vorwerk’s lecture for today, entitled “Augustine in the 20th Century Revival of Neoplatonism in France”, was cancelled for reasons untold. I wonder what is wrong…I think it would have been enjoyable. Ah well.

I am finding this quiet afternoon very pleasant. Tonight, Mommy and I may head to Baltimore to hear a performance of Mozart’s Requiem Mass at the Meyerhoff. I think that the experience may make up for the disappointment of missing the lecture. :-)

Now, I will finish my lab reports and drift off to the Shrine (gift/book shops?) until Daddy arrives to take me home. I need to do some Christmas shopping!

§ 2 Responses to Lecture Cancelled

  • Father Joe says:

    Lucky you! The Baltimore Choral Society (better than Washington’s?) is always involved with such productions and with full orchestration and other vocals it should be a real delight.

    It is unfortunate that the Requiem, while a masterpiece, is an uneven and incomplete work. Mozart died before he could finish it. The Sanctus, Benedictus and Agnus Dei were composed and added by Franz Xaver Süssmayr.

    He assisted Mozart but also composed some music under his own name, including two Masses and two other Requiems.

    Hope you can go. It should be a treat.

    “Green with Envy”
    Father Joe

  • Genna says:

    Oh my gosh! It was absolutely entrancing! Although, I must admit it is quite obvious where Mozart’s work drops off and Sussmayr’s begins. I would prefer they not play the last few parts…but ah well.

    The Meyerhoff was packed, and the performance was beautiful. Bravo.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lecture Cancelled at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

