Thank God…

March 15, 2006 § 1 Comment

Dr. Brewer moved our test from Friday to next Monday! Hooray – there is hope for my grade in that class yet. ;-)

The rest of today was pretty nice: I went to Mass with Anne this morning, I had lunch with JP and AJ, and I found out that Alys got her coveted internship in Pittsburgh (Congrats girl!).

I’ve been meaning to say something about the wonderful time that I had with the Klco’s on Sunday. I met them after Mass, they took me down to school, and I gave them a tour of the whole campus. Afterwards they took me out to lunch at Philips (I could not believe the number of excellent dishes they had there!). They (as well as myself) have wanted to do that for a long time, so it was nice to finally solidify plans. It was really a great way to spend a Sunday. The Klco’s are beautiful people.

I’m reading this book right now called A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter Miller, Jr. It is fascinating, and I am just glued to the pages when I read it. The thought behind the words is so deep that I can only read one chapter every night; more would be rather overwhelming.

Mrs. Nickens said that they are planning the Honors Program Spring dinner soon…and there will probably be a new reward for “Honors Teacher of the Year”. Dr. White has my vote hands down!

 

§ One Response to Thank God…

  • Father Joe says:

    A CANTICLE FOR LEIBOWITZ is a favorite of mine, did I give your family a hardback copy for Christmas? I know I mentioned to your mother that it is a true “Catholic” science fiction novel.

    Poor Miller wrote it in 1959 and it almost instantly became a classic. However, the author wrote little else and the long-awaited sequel was not published until 1997. Indeed, because Miller died, another writer had to finish the sequel from scattered notes. The original novel is a joy but give the sequel a pass. The book finished by Terry Bisson has elements in conflict with Catholicism, is disorganized and lacks purpose– it is a great disappointment, neither edifying nor enjoyable.

    A CANTICLE FOR LEIBOWITZ is a book you will want to keep in your library and read again in the years to come. I can get more hardback copies if anyone is reduced to the expensive but shabby paperback edition. I actually have a leatherbound copy in my collection; but that stays with me until the reading of my will.

    Walter Miller, Jr. suffered from many demons. He was very disillusioned by the post-Vatican II Church. When you read his book, say a little prayer for him. Before finishing the second book, he committed suicide. He was a man of genius and talent; but he was also a weak sinner like us all.

    May he rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thank God… at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

