We have a double birthday today…

December 19, 2005 § Leave a comment



It’s December 19th again…

To my little sister: who is PATIENT with me to a fault, giver of GREAT HUGS at just the RIGHT MOMENTS, maker of FANTASTIC breakfasts (and afternoon snacks that HIT THE SPOT after a long school day), and who has just started REPRIMANDING me like any LOVING SISTER should. ;-)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR ELIZABETH
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!!!!!

And now, for my mother…:::clears throat:::

To my mother: my absolute BEST friend, who is ALWAYS there for me if I need it, ALWAYS sticks up for me, and NEVER hesitates to say something when I need parenting (even though I don’t always like it). ALSO, to the mother who STEALS my Physics books so that I don’t KILL myself with studying.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR MOMMY
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!!!!!

I hope two of the most wonderful girls in my life have a great time on their special day (and don’t spend too much of it preparing for Christmas)!

Anyway, other than this wonderful birthday bash that we have going on today, I have been basking in the fact that I can simply look at the schoolbooks sitting on my top shelf. Hooray for a break from studying! Instead, I am spending my time reading (James Herriot and a short biography of George Washington), doing various domestic things (laundry, ironing, cooking, cleaning) to help prepare for Christmas, finishing Christmas cards, and spending time with my brother and sisters.

Last night, Kenny and I watched Unbreakable for the first time. It was a fantastic film, aside from one scene that seemed more along the unnecessarily violent lines of Hostage rather than an M. Night film. Bruce Willis was…well, I won’t say…and Samuel L. Jackson did a stunning acting job as usual. I can’t give a full review at the moment because my mother still hasn’t seen it and she reads this…but suffice it to say that if you haven’t seen it you SHOULD. Very thoughtful film which doesn’t fail to keep you at the edge of your seat; it isn’t at all like any of M. Night’s others.

Not to be insanely strange, but I was thinking the other day: is it possible to be born in the wrong place or the wrong time? I mean this, of course, not in the sense that a person wouldn’t be wanted, but just that one’s way of thinking belongs to another era or that, for instance, one was supposed to meet someone that is already dead. That isn’t to say that God can’t make good come out of bad, but it is possible for man to use his free will to make the wrong decisions. I’m finding it a mind bender for sure. Although I probably should stop thinking about something so science-fiction-ish and think about something more useful philosophically. Oh well.

The grades have started to come in – I am all smiles so far. Tuesday is the deadline for grades to be posted, so it won’t be long before I know the truth.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We have a double birthday today… at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

