SN2 = Substitution, Nucleophilic, Bimolecular

November 19, 2005 § Leave a comment

Yes, it’s organic chemistry. I have been going insane trying to study for the upcoming test on Monday morning. In hindsight, I should have started studying about three weeks ago, but I was so busy with the philosophy paper that I just didn’t have time. (Speaking of the paper: I will post it for inquiring minds who find the title “Made in the Image and Likeness of God: Aquinas and Aristotle on the Agent Intellect” intriguing, and if I get a decent grade.)

The promised “campus quotables”:

(First, the Dr. White section for this week)

“The end times are coming.”

“Look back in anger…look back at all? Okay. You’re sick of that stuff.”

(In response to Catherine’s comment that each of the four temperaments are represented by a different sister in Little Women): “I don’t know. I never borrowed my sister’s novels. You see boys – you should read girl’s novels and you can learn philosophy. What about the Hardy Boys? Well, there are only two of them; it wouldn’t work.”

“What is the highest Ethicophysical Good? I bet you’ve always wondered.”

“Quite a way to talk about dinner. I bet you never thought of that before: ‘Let’s go have our highest Ethicophysical Good before bed.'”

“My colleagues tell me there is a book out now that is quite popular – written by a women – called Are Men Really Necessary? Hmmm…..”
:::smirksmirk:::

And the treasured Whitisms of the week:
“The womb of a woman contains the potential future of the human race.”

“There was a student here once that could imitate people. Once he even imitated me. It was kind of…scary.”

Other quotables:
(chatting about Mass afterwards) “This is the post-game play-by-play.” ~ a fellow student

“Hmmm….I thought Fr. Fisher was the ‘O Perfect One’.” ~ a priest

“Peanut butter is good…and oatmeal….” ~ Fr. Rossi

“You little heathen!” ~ the Italian tourguide (to me!)

“Your thesis is just an overglorified laundry list anyway…” ~ Me

“Out of jealousy she dresses up only for the eyes of her own sex, in order to outdo other women in charm or pretended distinguished appearance. The man, on ther other hand, dresses up only for the feminine sex; if this can be called dressing, it goes only so far as not to shame his wife by his clothes.” ~ Immanuel Kant

“I’m spending quality time with the only man in my life – ARISTOTLE!”
~ My favorite away message

Now for a little game like one we played in TRS class this week. Guess who said this: (a) GWBush; (b) Adolph Hitler; (c) Winston Churchill; (d) Jesus Christ; (e) Pat Robertson [Answer at the end of the post.]

“The National Government will regard it as its first and foremost duty to revive in the nation the spirit of unity and cooperation. It will preserve and defend those basic principles on which our nation has been built. It regards Christianity as the foundation of our national morality, and the family as the basis of national life.”

Finally, the best quotables are done for this past week. I don’t know how interesting or funny they are to others, but I find each of them excellent examples of my life here at school.

As for things that happened, there isn’t much to talk about. I am literally just trying to hang on until Thanksgiving Break without going absolutely insane. Honestly, I haven’t had a break in too long, and work is getting to me. Sometimes I wonder if JP and I will someday have our heads explode in unison with the pressure…that would be interesting I think.

One odd thing did happen to me this week. This lady I was talking to at the Shrine (who knows me and how happy I am at school) asked me out of the blue whether I had ever considered transferring to another school. I laughed and assured her that I wouldn’t dream of such a thing, but then she got serious and told me that Providence College in R.I. is a fairly good school for the sciences, that it is mostly transfer students, and that the school finances most of your education with scholarships. It was kind of wierd…but I guess I should keep it in mind in case the unthinkable happens. In fact, I never thought about Providence before, but if I were to go to any other school I think that it would be that one. I have heard so many good things about it.

In other news this week, I became a Eucharistic Minister at the Shrine, signed up to audit (or possibly take for credit) a course with Dr. White next semester (bumping my credit load to 25 credit hours), and was offered an office job in the Physics Dept. I will have to think about the job…next semester is so busy already…I am always afraid that my schedule is going to burst at the seams and I will go to pieces. John Paul keeps warning me against working myself too hard…

Last thing for today…Anne and I decided to take ourselves off of facebook together as an act of defiance and rebellion. :::mwahahahaha::: No, really. It was a very difficult move for me and one that I thought about for a long time, but I think that facebook makes relationships too easy and far too shallow. I find that looking up others’ stats – whether boys or girls – ends up taking the place of real relationships and communication. This is our “two-girl revolution.” :::shaking my fist:::

Oh, and the answer? Adolph Hitler.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading SN2 = Substitution, Nucleophilic, Bimolecular at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

