Harvard…Yale….USC?!

November 6, 2005 § Leave a comment

Today I am only allowing myself ten minutes online so I had better type as quickly as I can. First, a couple quotables from the week previous:

“Kant’s a party” ~ JP

“The leaves are falling, it’s getting colder outside, it’s nearly Christmas Eve and the year 2006, the escaton is coming, and we are soon to be finished with Aquinas.” ~ Dr. White

The title of this post contains the names of three famous colleges which are weighing heavy on my ears these days. Now, please don’t take this as a brag party, because it isn’t. I listened dumbfounded as my chemistry professors said that these three schools will be well within my reach at the end of my undergraduate studies. They hope to send me to the best of the three – USC, the best grad school in the country for Chemistry (nod to Papa!!!)

To be quite honest, the reason I say that this isn’t a brag party is because it really scares me. For six years now I have said to Christ daily: “Lord, I am all Yours. Do with me as You will.” And, as Fr. Baer said in his homily this morning, “humility that seeks God says ‘I want to do what God wants me to do with my life’…” God hasn’t given me these talents in order to squander them (though I could easily do so if I pleased). These blessings He has poured upon me are to fashion me into His Own tool for good – but what am I to do with it? My future is not my own; I realize this because my talents are most definitely not my own. This frightens me…what does He have in store for me? I can only pray for discernment.

I have a lot of work to do this afternoon. Originally I was hoping to watch one of my new Foyle’s War Season 3 that I got in the mail last Wednesday, but Kenny went away with a friend for the weekend and it isn’t much fun to watch television by oneself. So I spent yesterday working Physics problems, hammering out a decent Philosophy paper outline, and finishing some infrared spectra problem sets for Chem lab. The IR spectra took me a lot longer than I expected, so I didn’t get to all the work I wanted to.

Today I will try to make up for my lack of foresight…and perhaps my lack of discipline with using the IM. ;-) An hour an a half of yesterday was eaten up by an IM conversation (not that I minded the conversation, but I should have been doing my homework). After I finish this post I am shutting down the computer and taking it off my desk!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend. Remember the theme from the readings today: it is our responsibility to seek Christ. He is always there for us, but He cannot force Himself upon us. All He can do is make Himself most available through His Church and desire that we make the decision to come to Him. Only we can make that decision to “Come to Him” for ourselves. Only we will answer for it in the end. He is standing there at the gates of His Kingdom, His arms open. Do we resist and shove away His pierced hands, or fall at His feet and weep for joy at His omnipotent love? This is indeed the choice before us.

Our Lady of Perpetual Help, pray for us, that we may become worthy of the promises of Christ.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Harvard…Yale….USC?! at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

