Early Tuesday Morning

July 11, 2005 § 3 Comments

…it’s actually late Monday for me since I haven’ t gone to sleep yet. I am laying in bed watching an episode of “Foyle’s War” right now – and a very good episode at that. This one focuses on the fuel shortage during WWII and how desperate people were to get their hands on some gasoline. The story also includes the IRA, but their reason for being involved is a little vague.

During dinner I was told that Mark called to say hi this afternoon, unfortunately while I was at work. So, since I missed it: “Hi Mark. Thanks for calling…I am glad to know that you all enjoyed your visit.” :-)

The owners and managers have rather swamped me with desk work to keep me occupied during this time of recommended “light duty”. Today I spent about four hours designing a tri-fold brochure for our club and worked on all-new write-ups for the inside. :::fingers crossed::: Hopefully the management likes it! Tomorrow I have already been assigned to make a poster….

Today I started reading Rob Roy alongside Quo Vadis. Though Sir Walter Scott sometimes has too much of a flair for the dramatic, his stories are colorful, vibrant, and thoroughly enjoyable. Ivanhoe was a joy, and so far Rob Roy seems promising. I always have to be reading two books: one hardback for at home, and one paperback for the car, etc.

Hmmmm…I might go with Cyndi to visit Margo tomorrow afternoon. I still haven’t seen the baby, and it has been four months!

§ 3 Responses to Early Tuesday Morning

  • auntlori says:

    Sir Walter Scott is one of those authors who has traditionally been categorized as ‘conservative’ — those with liberal tendencies [in his day, the Whigs] resenting his glorification in his books of traditional values & mores.

    He and others of the Romantics fought hard against the Utilitarian ideas of the Benthamites and felt that the battle was lost far too easily.

    “It has fallen easily, the Old Constitution; no bullying Mirabeau to assail, no eloquent Maury to defend. It has been thrown away like a child’s broken toy. Well, transeat, the good sense of the people is much trusted to; we shall see what it will do for us. The curse of Cromwell on those whose conceit brought us to this pass. Sed transeat. It is vain to mourn what cannot be mended.”Journal of Sir Walter Scott, 1829-1832

  • Genna says:

    Wow – I did not know that about Sir Walter Scott. That definitely adds new depth to my reading. Thanks!

  • auntlori says:

    those with liberal tendencies [in his day, the Whigs]

    glaring error on my part — the Whigs were HIS party, the Tories were (in that day) the liberal party……….. odd, huh?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Early Tuesday Morning at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

