SCHOOL IS OVER

May 6, 2005 § Leave a comment

It still hasn't sunk in quite yet. What a fantastic year I have had. My last two finals this morning were not too bad; Philosophy was wonderful. Fr. Shanley was so nice to us – not only did we get a choice of questions but he also gave us a bonus question for extra credit! As for chemistry, I don't remember much about it, except that I felt pretty good while I was taking it.

After the tests I spent a while having lunch with John Paul, chatting about everything and nothing. I am really going to miss him over the summer. But who knows? The family might find themselves in Ohio sometime on vacation in the next couple months…

Otherwise I really didn't want to leave the campus. I went and visited Mrs. Nickens and Dr. Merkel to say goodbye, and ran such mundane errands as paying my library fines and picking up transfer forms. On the train I started reading "Silence" (recommended by Fr. Shanley, of course.)

Anyway, so this weekend I am probably going to clean out my closet, and start working on writing my thoughts down on paper. It sounds stupid, but I have been planning to put together a sort of book of my first year of school, including a few of my favorite essay I wrote, selections from my blog, as well as short essays about "life lessons I have learned at college" and favorite quotes from teachers and various books I have read. After I am done I will get it bound and printed in book form at Kinko's or something and keep it for my own enjoyment…to remember.

But I need to start writing those short essays soon…I have been jotting down ideas for the past week or so, but I really need to write them while everything is fresh in my mind. I am really excited about it, and I figure it will force me to take a good introspective look at myself, the school year, and how college life and its experiences have changed me and matured me into a bit of a different person. Don't say it-I know-this whole "introspective" thing sounds a little typical coming from an aspiring philosopher. What can I say? My favorite subject matter is already rubbing off on me!

Oh yes; the paper that I wrote for Fr. Shanley and thought was my absolute worst ended up being an A-. Not too bad, considering that I wrote it in one evening. It was about "The United States Government from an Aristotelian Perspective". Fr. Shanley said that it was "well-written, thoughtful, and provacative." High praise, indeed.

Fr. Pritzl has promised to come over for dinner this summer…that would be awfully fun. However, I'm not sure how he is going to get here, because he does not have a car. I suppose we will have to go down to the D-house and get him. That's okay; no one minds being with him.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading SCHOOL IS OVER at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

