Tuesday

September 7, 2004 § Leave a comment

I drove to school with my mother this morning as usual for 7:30AM Mass and just made it on account of horrible traffic. After Mass Mommy dropped me off in front of the library so that I could study for a while before classes began. Inside, I checked my email and sat down to do some homework.
Today was my first day of French lab. Somehow I had fixed in my mind that language lab was something quite painful, and was dreading the class. It turned out, however, to be quite harmless: we watched a French video on salutations several times, listening to the conversation and translating what we could.
I took my time walking over to the class in Church History-it didn't start for about 45 minutes. There were a few people there already, and most of them happened to be studying Josef Pieper's work Liesure: The Basis of Culture for Philosophy class tomorrow. So, I pulled out my copy of the book and settled down for some decent study time.
The class itself was quite interesting, the first half focusing on how the discussion groups were to be run, and the second half on the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. It's going to take a little while to get used to the godless approach to Catholic Church History taken by my history professor. "We are going to approach the Church as a human institution…"
Dr. Rousseau (the history professor for the Honors Program) is a very smart man, despite what I may think of his Catholicism. He is actually quite entertaining at times, perhaps unbeknownst to himself. During the classes he makes his students love him because of his rather forgetful and absent-minded nature. A quite refined British accent adds to the whole effect, and makes him seem as if he popped out of an abstract idea one might have had of elderly British professors, sucking their pipes in front of a huge fire as their brains worked far harder than their poor limbs possibly could. I don't know-it's just an idea of mine that I have toyed with as I watched him in class.
A German lady is his assistant in the classroom. Truthfully, I would probably undertstand her better if she were speaking her native language rather than English. Her accent is very strong, and she tends to ramble about unimportant things during her part of the lesson. I suppose I could give her the benefit of the doubt and say it is nerves, but I'm not that kind. I hope she doesn't teach us too much.

I got an autograph from Alexei Yagudin on Saturday-perhaps this is a hint of the successes to come with my last "batch" of autograph requests sent? I mailed things to Sir Paul Scofield, Alexei Yagudin, Ian Thorpe, Michael Phelps, Aaron Piersol, Paul and Morgan Hamm, and Gabriel Byrne. Hopefully I will have good luck with them all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tuesday at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

