Hello again

November 22, 2010 § 1 Comment

I’m back! Lots and lots and lots of things have happened since I last posted.

Where to begin?

Right before Triduum in April, the Chief of Interpretation at Fort McHenry called and offered me a job as a seasonal Ranger for the National Park Service. I asked for 24 hours to think about it. Over that scant 24 hours, I had to make the biggest decision of my life thus far, the decision to leave my chemistry research and the scientific work I’d been studying and preparing for since 2004 and make a total career switch. I decided to take the plunge – admittedly terrifying at first and still requiring faith on my part that God knows what He is about – and have not regretted it once.

(This is also why my fashion blog has suffered severely. Perhaps one of these days I’ll get a chance to revamp that one too.)

Now, with my first summer of Ranger-business (a nod to Lost Skeleton of Cadavra) behind me, I am nearing the end of 2010. Who knew a year ago that I would be here now? Working as a National Park Service Ranger and a teacher for the Maryland Historical Society, studying history for an M.A., doing various and sundry research projects for fun, living at home, working on my relationships with my younger sisters…none of these things were on my radar screen in early April. I thought I was going to study Neuroscience at University of Northern AZ and take off on a brilliant scientific career. But thanks to a providential chain of events, that didn’t happen.

It amazes me how I ended up applying for NPS jobs; I think about it fairly often. My roomate (who I only accidentally ended up with for a roomate) from 2009-2010, Xiaofang, taught me that making money in your job wasn’t what mattered; the most important thing was working where you were best suited and were happiest. Whenever I whined about my job, my friend Ryan would ask what I’d be happiest doing (to which the answer was always “working at the Fort”). My friends at the Fort offered encouragement and inspiration, the straws that broke this camel’s back, so to speak, and made me realize that maybe the best thing isn’t always to “soldier through”.

So here I am. During Fall-Winter I am taking grad classes in history, doing research, and have spurts of employment (12-14 days at a time) mixed with bouts of quiet. The spring looks pretty exciting too: I just got a volunteer internship at the Maryland Historical Society helping to plan, develop and set up an exhibit on “Accessories throughout the Ages”, a project for which I can barely contain my excitement.

Enough of my history…I am happy to be back online. And just in time for Blessed Miguel Pro’s feast day, coming up tomorrow. :)

 

 

§ One Response to Hello again

  • K. M. White says:

    Nice redesign of your blog and reflective of current fashion trends and where you are in life right now. I can’t wait to read future entries! Salut!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello again at Musings of a Little Redheaded Girl.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

